Distinguished School Employee of the Year

Purpose of the Award
The District 300 Foundation for Educational Excellence seeks to enhance and extend learning opportunities for all District 300 students. A child’s District 300 learning experience can be enhanced by the exceptional efforts of District employees whose job description does not meet the criteria of the Distinguished Educator Award program. By annually honoring a District 300 employee who best meets the criteria of this award, it is hoped that such excellence will serve as an inspirational example. 

District 300 School Employee of the Year Award Criteria

• The nominee must be a District employee assigned to one or more of the District’s buildings in a position 
   that is not applicable to the Distinguished Educator Award.

• The nominee must have at least 3 years of District 300 service .
• The nominee should display professional excellence, innovativeness, dedication, and/or
   any other quality that contributes toward an enhanced/enriched District 300 student
   learning experience.
• By example the nominee should inspire colleagues to work towards the same level of
   high performance.
• The nominee should display a willingness to share her/his expertise that leads
   colleagues down the path toward exemplary performance.
• The nominee should demonstrate through daily practice, an understanding of the needs
   of learners in his/her area of job responsibility.

Distinguished School Employee Instructions

Nomination Process 
Each school in District 300 is encouraged to annually establish a nominating committee of no less than three staff members to determine whether a nomination should be submitted. Should it be decided that a nomination is to be submitted; the school nominating committee will complete and submit the application by the required date. Questions regarding the process should be directed to Pat Ehmann, Foundation Administrative Assistant, at:  patricia.ehmann@d300.org  

Deadline for Nominations 

Friday, February 10, 2017.  Nomination forms are electronically submitted to The District 300 Foundation for Educational Excellence.  

 Selection Process 

The Selection Committee will consist of no less than three District 300 Foundation Trustees. The finalists for this award will be announced prior to the annual Foundation Awards Celebration. 

The Foundation’s Distinguished District 300 School Employee Award will be announced and presented at the annual Awards Celebration dinner in April. 
 Congratulations to the 2016 D300 Foundation
Distinguished School Employee of the Year


2016 Distinguished School Employee of the Year, Christopher Orange, (Perry Elementary) Pictured with, (from left), Perry Elementary Principal Kristin Sainsbury, Superintendent of Schools, Fred Heid and Foundation Chairman, Ian Lamp.

Congratulations to all the nominees for the 2016 Distinguished School Employee of the Year award.
Algonquin Lakes Elementary       Alicia Swanson
Algonquin Middle                 Merry Sibigtroth
Carpentersville Middle           Silvia Bueno
Central Office                   Lora Garrison
Dundee-Crown High                Laura Smith
deLacey Family Education Center  Austin Brown
Dundee Highalands Elementary     Susan Beichner
Dundee Middle                    Wanda Daum
Eastview Elementary              Sharon Dumdie
Golfview Elementary              Subrina Thurman
Hampshire Elementary             Char Hentschel
Hampshire High                   Dan Dold
Hampshire Middle                 Terry Herrmann
Jacobs High                      Kendra Rieder
Lakewood School                  Ellen Zalce
Liberty Elementary               Karen Hayes
Lake in the Hills Elementary     Kim Brunner
Lincoln Prairie Elementary       Juan Cruz
Meadowdale Elementary            Jean Washington
Neubert Elementary               Penny Chapman
OakRidge                         John Galason
Parkview Elementary              Amy Ellingson
Perry Elementary                 Christopher Orange
Sleepy Hollow Elementary         Kerry Meo
Westfield Community              Mary Cotton
Wright Elementary                Sally Seiler 

Past Distinguished School Employees of the Year

2015 Celeste Breslow, Golfview Elementary School 

2014 Tracey Moore, Neubert Elementary School 

2013 Telesforo Contreras, Westfield Community School