2008 News/Press Releases

Barnes & Noble Book Fair on Black Friday

Dr. Scarpino reads in character as Big Anthony to children at Barnes & Noble on Black Friday.

A big THANK YOU to Dr. David Scarpino for donning the Big Anthony costume from Strega Nona by Tomi DePaola.  Dr. Scarpino participated in the Barnes and Noble Book Fair on Black Friday as the guest reader.  In preparation he contacted the elementary librarians and asked that they send him their favorite books so the children could pick from the group.  It was a wonderful 45 minutes.  Thanks to all our volunteers who helped wrap patron's gifts that day.  Barnes & Noble has been an excellent partner to the Foundation for years.  We thank them for their continued support.   Mary Fioretti, Chairman


Mary Fioretti, Chairman & Deb Kelley, VP Development recieve $1000 IASBO donation from Dr. Crates

D300 Finance Officer Awards Foundation $1000 IASBO Monarach Gift

Dr. Cheryl Crates, District 300 Finance Officer, was awarded the prestigious 2008 Monarch Award from the Illinois Association of School Business Officials (IASBO).  As part of the award, IASBO awarded $1,000 to the D300 Foundation in Crates’ name for student leadership initiatives.

May 2008

Chair Receives 2008 Public Education Ambassador Award

DOE Christine Cohn presents INSPRA award to Chairman Fioretti with Dr. Arndt

District 300 Foundation Chairman Mary Fioretti earned the very highest honor among 40 impressive nominees as 2008 Public Education Ambassador of the Year for the entire state of Illinois.  The judging committee determined that Fioretti was the epitome of “distinguished service to public education.”  The Distinguished Service Awards program is facilitated by INSPRA (the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association).

Daily Herald:
The Briefs: Foundation honors alumni
March 26, 2008
Five alumni of Community Unit District 300 will be honored this year at the District 300 Foundation's annual award ceremony spring gala. Each year, the foundation chooses District 300 graduates or former students who have achieved success in their field or engaged in community service to receive the Distinguished Alumni Award. This year's recipients are: Donna Schuring Redmer, a former District 300 principal; Laro Tan, who works for the FBI; political reporter Bethany Jaeger; Dundee Township Park District Commissioner Craig Rakow; and former athlete Kevin Orr. The gala will be at 6 p.m. on April 25 at the Raue Center for the Arts in Crystal Lake.

Courier News
News Digest  
March 23, 2008
School District 300
Alumni to be honored

The Community Unit School District 300 Foundation will honor five outstanding alumni with Distinguished Alumni Awards at the annual Award Ceremony Spring Gala at 6 p.m. April 25 at the Raue Center for the Arts in Crystal Lake. Awards are given to alumni over 30 years old who have made significant accomplishments in their profession or service to the community. Alumni were nominated by people within the community who have been affected by the recipients' work. The recipients are Craig Rakow, Dr. Donna Schuring Redmer, Kevin Orr and Laro Tan. The recipient of the Distinguished Young Alumni Award is Bethany Carson Jaeger. Tickets for the event are available at www.rauecenter.org. For more information on the recipients and the awards visit www.d300foundation.org.

March 5, 2008

D300 Foundation Honors Alumni Award Recipients

CARPENTERSVILLE- This year the District 300 Foundation will get a chance to honor five of the outstanding alumni that have graduated from the District 300 schools.  The distinguished alumni Award is granted to a District 300 graduate or former student over the age of 30 for significant accomplishments on ones profession or service to the community.  These people are making a difference not only in their world, but also in the worlds of the people around them.  These alumni have been nominated by different people within the community that have been touched directly by their work and seen their passion and enthusiasm up close.  The Foundation was excited to be able to choose these five recipients on March 5th.  The winners will be formally honored on Friday, April 25th at the Annual Award Ceremony Spring Gala. 

The five recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award are; Craig Rakow, Dr. Donna Shuring Redmer, Kevin Orr, and Laro Tan.  The recipient of the Distinguished Young Alumni is Bethany (Carson) Jaeger.

Author Yuyi Morales

Yuyi Morales Visit

The Foundation underwrote
the author illustrator
Yuyi Morales to visit with
Lakewood and Hampshire
See our Adobe slide
show here>>