Distinguished Educator of the Year
Purpose of the Award
The District 300 Foundation for Educational Excellence seeks to enhance and extend learning opportunities for all District 300 students. By annually honoring a District 300 classroom educator who best meets the award criteria, it is the hope that the excellence that exists in many of our classrooms will be advanced.

District 300 Educator of the Year Award Criteria

• The educator nominee must have at least 5 years of District 300 teaching experience and be at
   least 5 years from anticipated retirement.

• The educator nominee should display innovative techniques of instruction and motivation of
   learners that maximize student achievement.

• By example the educator nominee should inspire colleagues to employ innovative techniques 
  and best practices.

• The educator nominee should display a willingness to share her/his expertise that leads
   colleagues down the path toward exemplary performance.

• The educator nominee should demonstrate through daily practice, an understanding of the
   needs of learners and what it takes to bring them to high levels of achievement.

Distinguished Educator Instructions

Nomination Process
Each school in District 300 is encouraged to annually establish a nominating committee of no less than three certified staff members to determine whether a nomination should be submitted. Should it be decided that a nomination is to be submitted; the school nominating committee will complete and submit the application by the required date. Questions regarding the process should be directed to Pat Ehmann, Foundation Administrative Assistant, at: patricia.ehmann@d300.org

Deadline for Nominations

Friday, February 10, 2017.  Nomination forms are electronically submitted to The District 300 Foundation for Educational Excellence.  


Selection Process

The Selection Committee will consist of no less that five District 300 certified retirees and at least one member of the Board of Trustees of the District 300 Foundation for Educational Excellence.


The Foundation’s Distinguished District 300 Educator Award will be announced and presented at the annual Awards Celebration in April.

 Congratulations to the 2016 D300 Foundation
Distinguished Educator of the Year


2016 Distinguished Educator of the Year, Marybeth Devore,  (Lake in the Hills Elementary School) Pictured with (from left), Lake in the Hills Elementary Principal, Nathan Jarot, Superintendent of Schools, Fred Heid, Foundation Chairman, Ian Lamp .

Congratulations to all the nominees for the 2016 Distinguished Educator of the Year Award!

Algonquin Lakes Elementary       Alisha Baumann
Algonquin Middle                 Deane Gidlund
Carpentersville Middle           Leslie Unruh
Dundee-Crown High                Ron Chilcutt
deLacey Family Education Center  Kimberly Storrie
Dundee Highalands Elementary     Janet Kmieciak
Dundee Middle                    Beth Harner
Eastview Elementary              Dawn Danilov
Gilberts Elementary              Kathryn Ley
Golfview Elementary              Emma Czajkowski
Hampshire Elementary             Dr. Tammy Bennett
Hampshire High                   Mike Jakubowski
Hampshire Middle                 Laura Young
iNight School                    Sylvia Cnota
Jacobs High                      Robert (Jamie) Murray
Lakewood School                  Francesca Favero
Liberty Elementary               Dr. Sandy Bennett
Lake in the Hills Elementary     Marybeth Devore
Lincoln Prairie Elementary       Michelle Grossmayer
Meadowdale Elementary            Alexandra Gavin
Neubert Elementary               Dr. Luc Miron
Parkview Elementary              Grace VanDerKolk
Perry Elementary                 Karen Gray
Sleepy Hollow Elementary         Rebecca Meyer
Westfield Community              Ann Spears
Wright Elementary                Jennifer Heinisch 

Past Distinguished Educators of the Year

2015   Michael York, Hampshire Elementary School 

2014   Stephen Fodor, Westfield Community School 

2013   Jennifer O'Donnell, Lakewood 

2012   Cynthia Schneider, Jacobs High School

2011   Kristine Pizzolato, Dundee Middle School

2010   Carol Anderson, Neubert Elementary School

2009   Barb Jones, Lincoln Prairie Elementary School

     Carolyn Szabo, Dundee Middle School

2008   Nancy Hatcher, Liberty Elementary School